The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2019


Substantia sincerely congratulates the 2019 Nobel Laureates for Chemistry, John B. Goodenough, M. Stanley Whittingham and Akira Yoshino, in recognition of their work for the “development of lithium-ion batteries”.

John Goodenough is a professor of mechanical engineering in the Cockrell School of Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin.

Stanley Whittingham is a chemistry professor at Binghamton University and director of both the Institute for Materials Research and the Materials Science and Engineering program.

Akira Yoshino is a honorary fellow with Asahi Kasei Corporation and a professor at Meijo University in Nagoya.

We, as scientists and citizens of our world, are particularly pleased by the words that the Nobel committee used in the proclamation: the three scientists “have created the right conditions for a wireless and fossil fuel-free society, and so brought the greatest benefit to humankind.”