News | 2024

News and Highlights from Substantia

Joseph B. Lambert HIST Award for 2024 to James L. and Virginia R. Marshall


The recipients of the 2024 Joseph B. Lambert HIST Award of the Division of the History of Chemistry (HIST) of the American Chemical Society are James L. and Virginia R. Marshall.  James Marshall is an Emeritus Professor of Chemistry at the University of North Texas, Denton, TX. Virginia Marshall, although not a chemist by training, was Jim’s partner in their work on the history of the chemical elements.  The HIST Award is for outstanding achievement in the history of chemistry and is international in scope. This award is the successor to the Dexter Award (1956-2001) and the Sydney M. Edelstein Award (2002-2009), also administered by HIST.

The HIST Award consists of an engraved plaque and a check for $1500 and will be presented to Professor Marshall at the fall national meeting of the American Chemical Society in Denver, CO, in August 2024. Additional information about the award can be found on the HIST website at